2018 Premiers Awards for Public Service

13 March 2018Department of Premier and Cabinet

Nominate an individual or team for a Premier’s Award for Public Service, and recognise their success in public service delivery.

"Safer Pathways" won the 2017 Premier's Award for Reducing Domestic Violence Reoffending

Key dates

Nominations opened on 12 March 2018.

Award Ambassadors will coordinate the awards program across their agencies and can advise the closing date for nominations in your agency.  Please contact your Awards Ambassador for the nomination closing date

Finalists will be announced on the Premier’s Awards website in October 2018. 

Winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on Wednesday 7 November 2018.  

About the Premier’s Awards for Public Service

The Premier’s Awards encourage sector-wide reflection on performance levels achieved, and motivate individuals and teams to continually improve systems and services to achieve better outcomes for the NSW community.

There 12 award categories showcase achievements and progress towards the NSW Premier’s priorities, and nominations can be made for both individuals and teams.  The categories are:

  • Improving government services
  • Improving education results
  • Driving public sector diversity
  • Protecting our kids
  • Creating jobs
  • Keeping our environment clean
  • Reducing domestic violence reoffending
  • Delivering infrastructure
  • Improving service levels in hospitals
  • Making housing more affordable
  • Tackling childhood obesity
  • Reducing youth homelessness

The most outstanding individual winner within the 12 categories will be awarded the Premier’s Award for Individual Excellence and Achievement.

The Anthea Kerr Award, which recognises future public sector leaders who are under 35 years of age, is a standalone award within the Premiers Awards program. Nominations for the Anthea Kerr award are invited separately to the 12 categories, and it is judged against discrete criteria. The recipient of this award receives an individually customised professional development program to assist them in accelerating their career.

Individuals and agencies are encouraged to nominate staff, peers, projects and partnerships that showcase the excellent achievements in their organisations.

Nominate an individual or a team

Visit the  Premier’s Awards website for a list of ambassadors, details of categories and to access the nomination form.