Awards for community and public service

Awards are a way the NSW Government can acknowledge excellence and reward achievement and service.

The Department of Premier and Cabinet is responsible for coordinating or has significant involvement in the following awards

For service to the community

  • the NSW Government State Representative Award
  • the NSW Government Community Service Award

For exemplary and/or outstanding public service

  • Public Service Medal
  • NSW Service Medallion

Australian Honours

The Department of Premier and Cabinet also has significant involvement in Australian Honours which are issued through the Honours Secretariat in Canberra. Australian Honours are the national awards announced by the Governor-General on Australia Day and the Queen's Birthday each year.

The Australian Honours are made up of the Order of Australia, the Public Service Medal, the Australian Police Medal, the Australian Fire Service Medal, the Ambulance Service Medal, the Emergency Service Medal, the Gallantry Decorations, the Distinguished Service Decorations and the Conspicuous Service Decorations.

The Australian Bravery Decorations are also part of the Australian Honours system, and are generally announced in April and August every year.

For full details on how you can nominate someone for these awards visit the It's an Honour website or contact 1800 552 275 or email