Regional Economic Development Strategies

The NSW Government has assisted local councils to develop Regional Economic Development Strategies (REDS) based on the concept of a Functional Economic Region (FER), which usually incorporates more than one local government area. 

The Centre has led this work and managed a panel of expert contractors to collaborate with councils and local stakeholders on their REDS.

The REDS provide a clear economic development strategy for the region. They also enable faster access to dedicated state funding, such as the Growing Local Economies Fund, and may also be used to support other types of government grant applications. 

Read the FAQS about REDS

Map of Functional Economic Regions

The documents linked from this page may not conform to Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0. Request a document in an alternative format


A number of REDS are now finalised and published below. The remainder are due to be finalised by September 2018.

Functional Economic Region Constituent Councils Regional Economic Development Strategies
  1. Bathurst Regional Council
  2. Oberon Council
  1. Albury City Council
  2. Federation Council
  3. Greater Hume Shire Council
  4. Indigo Shire Council (VIC)
  5. Wodonga Council (VIC)
  1. ACT Unincorporated
  2. Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council
  1. Gilgandra Shire Council
  2. Warrumbungle Shire Council
Central Coast and Lake Macquarie
  1. Central Coast Council
  2. Lake Macquarie City Council
Central Orana
  1. Dubbo Regional Council
  2. Narromine Shire Council
Clarence Valley
  1. Clarence Valley Council
Coffs Coast
  1. Bellingen Shire Council
  2. Coffs Harbour City Council
  1. Cowra Shire Council
Eastern Riverina
  1. Coolamon Shire Council
  2. Junee Shire Council
  3. Lockhart Shire Council
  4. Wagga Wagga City Council
Far South Coast
  1. Bega Valley Shire Council
  2. Eurobodalla Shire Council
Far West
  1. Broken Hill City Council
  2. Central Darling Shire Council
  3. Unincorporated Far West NSW
  1. Kempsey Shire Council
  2. Port Macquarie – Hastings Council
  1. Cessnock City Council
  2. Dungog Shire Council
  3. Maitland City Council
  4. Muswellbrook Shire Council
  5. Port Stephens Council
  6. Singleton Council
  7. Upper Hunter Shire Council
  1. Kiama Municipal Council
  1. City of Lithgow Council
Lower North West
  1. Gunnedah Shire Council
  2. Liverpool Plains Shire Council
  3. Tamworth Regional Council
Mid Coast
  1. MidCoast Council
  1. Forbes Shire Council
  2. Lachlan Shire Council
  3. Parkes Shire Council
  1. Mid-Western Regional Council
  1. Berrigan Shire Council
  2. Campaspe Shire Council (VIC)
  3. Edward River Council
  4. Gannawarra Shire Council (VIC)
  5. Moira Shire Council (VIC)
  6. Murray River Council
  1. Nambucca Shire Council
Northern New England High Country
  1. Glen Innes Severn Council
  2. Southern Downs Regional Council (QLD)
  3. Tenterfield Shire Council
Northern Rivers
  1. Ballina Shire Council
  2. Byron Shire Council
  3. Kyogle Council
  4. Lismore City Council
  5. Richmond Valley Council
Orange, Blayney and Cabonne
  1. Blayney Shire Council
  2. Cabonne Council
  3. Orange City Council
  1. Shellharbour City Council
  1. Shoalhaven City Council
Snowy Monaro
  1. Snowy Monaro Regional Council
Snowy Valleys
  1. Snowy Valleys Council
South Western Slopes
  1. Bland Shire Council
  2. Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional Council
  3. Hilltops Council
  4. Temora Shire Council
  5. Weddin Shire Council
Southern New England High Country
  1. Armidale Regional Council
  2. Uralla Shire Council
  3. Walcha Council
Southern Tablelands
  1. Goulburn-Mulwaree
  2. Upper Lachlan
  3. Yass Valley
  1. Gold Coast Council (QLD)
  2. Tweed Shire Council
Upper North West
  1. Gwydir Shire Council
  2. Inverell Shire Council
  3. Moree Plains Shire Council
  4. Narrabri Shire Council
Western Murray
  1. Balranald Shire Council
  2. Hay Shire Council
  3. Mildura Rural City Council (VIC)
  4. Swan Hill Rural City Council (VIC)
  5. Wentworth Shire Council
Western Plains
  1. Bogan Shire Council
  2. Bourke Shire Council
  3. Brewarrina Shire Council
  4. Cobar Shire Council
  5. Coonamble Shire Council
  6. Walgett Shire Council
  7. Warren Shire Council
Western Riverina
  1. Carrathool Shire Council
  2. Griffith City Council
  3. Leeton Shire Council
  4. Murrumbidgee Council
  5. Narrandera Shire Council
  1. Wingecarribee Shire Council


Email the Centre for Economic and Regional Development with your enquiry about the REDS.