Panel of Experts - Political Donations

The NSW Government has established a panel of experts to investigate the potential for further reforms to election funding laws (view the Premier's press release).

The Panel has been established in response to public concern over the influence of political donations on the integrity of government decision-making - concern that has been heightened by ICAC's recent public hearings in relation to Operations Credo and Spicer. The ICAC is investigating allegations that certain members of Parliament and others corruptly solicited, received and concealed payments from various sources in return for favours, and solicited and failed to disclose political donations from companies, including prohibited donors, contrary to the Election Funding, Expenditure and Disclosures Act 1981 (NSW). Further information about the ICAC's investigations is available here.

The Panel members are Dr Kerry Schott (Chair), former Labor Deputy Premier The Hon. John Watkins and former Liberal Shadow Attorney General Mr Andrew Tink AM. More information on the Panel members is available here. The Panel members have been appointed by Letters Patent issued by the Governor.

Terms of reference

The Panel's full terms of reference are available here.

The terms of reference require the Panel to report to the Premier by 31 December 2014 on options for long term reform of political donations, including whether or not it is feasible and in the public interest given all considerations (including legal, constitutional and others) to provide full public funding of State election campaigns.

The Panel delivered its final report to the Governor and the Premier on 24 December 2014.

The NSW Government provided its response to the Panel’s final report on 5 March 2015.

  1. Andrew Moran - Individual
  2. Dr Joo-Cheong Tham - University of Melbourne
    1. Dr Joo-Cheong Tham, Supplementary Submission
    2. Dr Joo-Cheong Tham, Roundtable Follow up to Expert Panel 
  3. Professor George Williams - Gilbert and Tobin Centre of Public Law, University of New South Wales
  4. Peter Donovan - Individual
  5. Professor Anne Twomey - University of Sydney
  6. Professor Graeme Orr - University of Queensland
  7. Marilyn Long - Individual
  8. Dr Iain McMenamin - Senior Lecturer, School of Law and Government, Dublin City University
  9. Alan T Fredericks - Individual
  10. Keith Kelly - Individual
  11. The Honourable Peter R. Graham Q.C. - Individual
  12. Patrick Synge – Funding & Disclosure (Inc)
  13. Confidential
  14. Shayne Higson – Voluntary Euthanasia Party
  15. Charles Matthews – No Parking Meters Party
  16. Anthony D'Adam – Individual
  17. Dr David Solomon AM - A/Queensland Integrity Commissioner
  18. Australian Labor Party, NSW Branch
  19. Adam Johnson - Individual
  20. Dr Anika Gauja & Professor Rodney Smith, University of Sydney
  21. Jane Oakley - Individual
  22. Hunter Communities Network
  23. Bruce Hawker - Campaigns & Communications
  24. Bret Walker SC - individual
  25. Confidential
  26. Peter Morris - Individual
  27. F Majeed - Individual
  28. Annie Morris Wieland - Individual
  29. Stop Coal Seam Gas Blue Mountains
  30. Susanne Rix - Individual
  31. Baz Thrower - Individual
  32. Nicola Bludau - Individual
  33. Eddy Hearns - Individual
  34. Antony Green - ABC Election Analyst
  35. Charmian Eckersley - Individual
  36. Richard Stanford - Individual
  37. Confidential
  38. Greg Stiles - Individual
  39. John Robertson MP - NSW Leader of the Opposition
  40. The Greens NSW
  41. Urban Development Institute of Australia
  42. Rodney Cavalier
  43. NSW Electoral Commission
  44. NSW National Party
  45. Confidential
  46. Unions NSW
  47. Alex Greenwich MP
  48. Urban Taskforce
  49. Alexander Reid - Individual
  50. Narelle Stiles - Individual
  51. Roger Pearson - Individual
  52. Confidential
  53. Nature Conservation Council
  54. Senator David Leyonhjelm - Liberal Democratic Party
  55. The Law Society
  56. The newDemocracy Foundation
  57. Confidential
  58. Greg Piper MP
  59. Foundation for Alcohol Research & Education
  60. Lock the Gate Alliance
  61. Leong, Hazelton & Tello
    1. Shane Leong Supplementary Submission
  62. The Dame Pattie Menzies Liberal Foundation
  63. Confidential
  64. Confidential
  65. Burwood Community Voice
  66. Confidential
  67. Reno Aprile - Individual
  68. Confidential
  69. Australian Manufacturing Workers' Union
  70. Dr Simon Longstaff AO - St James Ethics Centre
  71. Edwin Chen - Individual
  72. Public Relations Institute of Australia
  73. Associate Professor the Hon Dr Ken Coghill - Monash University
  74. The Accountability Round Table
  75. Christian Democratic Party
  76. Australian Cyclists Party

Contact us

General and media inquiries may be directed to the Panel by email at