Public Service Commission

  1. The Public ServicePSG


    The Public Service

    Based on Schedule 1, Part 1 of the Public Sector Employment and Management Act 2002. The Public Service has some key industrial arrangements applying to all Departments and Agencies. It has two divisions:
         Principal Departments, and
         Other Public Service Divisions

  2. Principal DepartmentsPSG

    Principal Departments

    e.g., Department of Premier and Cabinet, NSW Treasury, the Department of Environment Climate Change and Water the Department of Justice and Attorney General.

  3. Other Public Service DivisionsPSG

    Other Public Service Divisions

    e.g., Board of Studies, Public Prosecutions, Legal Aid Commission, Fire and Rescue NSW (excluding firefighters).

  4. Special Employment DivisionsNPSG

    Shared with Other

    Special Employment Divisions

    Based on Schedule 1, Part 3 of the Public Sector Employment and Management Act 2002.
    e.g., ancillary groups of staff who are not part of the Public Service but who are employed under Chapter 1A in connection with an agency that, in most cases, also has Public Service staff assigned to it.

  5. NSW Health ServiceNPSG


    NSW Health Service

    Based the Health Services Act 1997
    e.g., Local Health Networks and the Ambulance Service

  6. NSW Police ForceNPSG


    NSW Police Force

    Based on the Police Act 1990 e.g., Police Officers

  7. Teaching ServiceNPSG


    Teaching Service

    Based on the Teaching Services Act 1980 and the Technical & Further Education Commission Act 1990
    e.g., school teachers and TAFE teachers

  8. State Owned CorporationsNPSG


    State Owned Corporations

    Based on Schedule 1 and Schedule 5 of the State Owned Corporations Act 1989
    e.g., Delta Electricity, Energy Australia, Country Energy

  9. OtherNPSG

    Shared with Special Employment Divisions


    Based on separate industrial arrangements for each agency
    e.g., Firefighters, ICAC, Parliament and some of the transport agencies (RailCorp and Sydney Ferries).

How is the public sector workforce supported by Government?

Public Service Commission (PSC)

The Public Service Commission (PSC) was established on 1 November 2011. The Public Service Commissioner has a range of functions that relate directly to the strategic development and management of the NSW public sector workforce.

The broad goals of the PSC are to:

  • develop the capablility of the workforce through policies and frameworks in areas of recruitment, retention and culture
  • set and promulgate public service standards for merit and ethics 
  • understand and shape the parameters of the public service workforce of the future
  • provide authoritive evidence, data and tools concerning the sector to assist agency decision making. 

Browse the links listed under the Public Service Commission section in the left hand margin to find out more. Note that information relevant to the public sector workforce will gradually be migrated to the PSC website.  

The Policy Directory

The Policy Directory is the central location for all PSC policy documents documents and those relating to the industrial relations functions previously carried out by the former Public Sector Workforce division in the DPC. The Policy Directory contains Directives, Guidelines, Bulletins and Publications and provides various search options to access documents. Note: The policy documents relating to the industrial relations function will be relocated in due course. References to the Public Sector Workforce of the Department of Premier and Cabinet in individual policy documents will be progressively updated to the PSC.


Human resources and industrial relations practitioners in agencies can make enquiries via email to or phone to (02) 9272 6000. Any enquiry that requires advice should be lodged by email rather than phone.

© 2012 NSW Public Service Commission